Farrah Fawcett, Michael Jackson

I am not a constant blogger. I tend to do so when I get the urge, when there is something I really want to say about something, or someone who has touched me deeply. This  is one of those times I feel the need to write, to openly express some of the feelings I have been having over the past few days.

When my sister came into my room to tell me Farrah had passed away, it was such of a blow. Although I knew she was severely ill, and expected her passing eventually, to actually hear the words was still heartbreaking. To turn on the tv, and to begin to see the news coverage, makes it real. “Charlie’s Angels” was the first TV show I completely flipped over. I was obsessed with these three beautiful women, and their weekly crime-fighting adventures. I still remember the first episode I ever saw- “Terror On Ward One”. The Angels had gone undercover in a hospital to find out who had been attacking nurses who worked there. Right in the middle of it all was Farrah Fawcett- Majors (her name at the time) with her huge, mega-watt smile, blonde feathered hair, and perky persona. She was Jill Munroe, the “athletic” angel. For those who are too young to remember, or who had not yet been born, Farrah Fawcett was bigger than any female actress or singer you could think of. Sure, Miley Cyrus is pretty hot right now, as is Beyonce, but you don’t see copies of their hairstyles everytime you turn around. However, you HAVE seen Beyonce wearing a Farrah do. Everytime I watch ’70s game shows on Game Show Network, I always see endless Farrah hair. Her poster sold 12 million copies, a record which has yet to be matched or surpassed. I had 2 Farrah dolls, a puzzle, a purse, magazines… You name it. No one could smile quite like she could. If you watch reruns of sitcoms from that era, like “Good Times” or “Welcome Back Kotter”, and even from the ’80s, as in “Facts of Life”, you will hear references to Farrah. I have heard them in episodes of “The A-Team”, “The Jeffersons”, and “Dallas” also. As the ’80s continued on, I remember all the buzz at school the day after “The Burning Bed” was shown. We all watched it, and saw her in a completely new light. I always watched her movies and TV appearances, and followed the various events in her life. She was a HUGE part of not only my childhood, but my life, for over 30 years.

As if I wasn’t feeling stunned enough already, during dinner, my sister again had a shocking announcement. Michael Jackson was rushed to the hospital, due to cardiac arrest. It just didn’t sound real. Was she reading that right? After dinner, I decided to briefly turn to CNN to check on the situation, and the very accuracy of it. On the screen was the stunning news he had passed away. Fortunately, the couch was directly behind me, so I could quickly sit down, because I felt like falling, as if the rug had been pulled out underneath me. Michael Jackson had been having an impact on my world since before I was born. The Jackson Five hit “Never Can Say Goodbye” always reminded my Mother of her pregnancy with me, and my subsequent birth. I remember listening to his “Off The Wall” album when I was 8, at a barbeque at our cousins’ house. In third grade, four of us girls were dancing on stage to “Rock With You” in music class. Then there were the videos, and endless obsession with him at school during the days of “Thriller”. He was discussed daily. Not only was he the King of Pop, but the King of music videos. His videos were always beyond innovating, made a statement, and told a story. I still have his “Bad” album, which remains a classic. He was the Beatles of my generation. That, no doubt, is a statement of controversy, but one I stand by. My favorite song by him? “Remember the Time”. There are other favorites too, including “Smooth Criminal”, “Bad”, “Man in the Mirror”, “You Are Not Alone”, and “Off the Wall”. No entertainer was bigger than Michael Jackson when I was growing up, and his style has been copied by everyone from New Edition to MC Hammer to Usher. You can easily see his influence upon the females too, including Brittany Spears and Destiny’s Child. However, none of them can work it like Michael. In 7th grade, a buddy of mine gave me a Michael Jackson wallet. When I got home, I gave to it my sister. She still has it to this day.

And yes, let us not forget Ed McMahon, who passed away a few days earlier. Not only do I remember watching him as the host of “Star Search”, but who could forget his “Heeeere’s Johnny!” catchphrase. The “Tonight Show” theme song from that era still sounds like it’s bedtime, and school is in the morning.

These past few days are ones  many of us will never forget. I still remember the day Elvis passed away 32 years ago this summer. That was my first experience of the death of a celebrity, and after all of these years, I have not forgotten the feeling.  To lose two remarkable legends at the same time is overwhelming. It puts into perspective how much they meant to you over the years, and always will. My memories of Ed, Michael and Farrah are both forever priceless, and forever my very own. I am clinging to them a little tighter now.

~ by kmnnz on June 27, 2009.

One Response to “Farrah Fawcett, Michael Jackson”

  1. You never miss what you have until its gone.Nice article!

Leave a Reply

 
