Lisa Whelchel’s Book- My Review

I’ve been so busy over the past several months, I haven’t taken the time to do one of my most favorite things- buy a new book, and spend some time with it. Well, I did so recently. The book? “The Facts Of Life And Other Lessons My Father Taught Me”, by Lisa Whelchel. We all know Lisa as snooty Blair Warner from “The Facts of Life”. I’ve always liked Lisa. I had one of her posters on my wall when I was a kid. I bought her Christian album when it was released in 1984. Now, I wanted to see how she is as an author. I wasn’t disappointed.

I was surprised to discover how much we have in common. We are both native Texans, born in May. We both became born-again Christians as children ( I was 9, two months shy of my 10th b-day). We both fell deeply in love with guys who were Jewish. We love to read, and have had issues with our weight. We are both still finding our way, and depending heavily upon God throughout the journey. I think we’d be good friends.

Lisa is very candid and open in her book. She talks about being a TV star, struggling with her weight, the divorce of her parents, how she fell in love with her husband, and being a mother. She mostly talks about how she has depended upon God to lead her, and to guide her through life. There is a very warm, sincere tone in the book. It’s like chatting with a girlfriend. You have to remind yourself she was an actress. “This is Blair??”” I’ve said that a couple of times. She’s funny, sweet, and honest. She talks about going to her pastor’s house for some counseling, and being forced to watch an episode of “Murder She Wrote”. She impatiently couldn’t wait for it to go off.  The part that probably surprised me most was how she was initially was not at all attracted to her husband, Steve. It was a marriage she says was arranged by God. After prayer and fasting, she began to see just what she had been given, and fell in love with him. The two have been married for almost 23 years.

A lot of people think just because you are a Christian means you are “boring”, “no fun”, and/or “weird”. Not at all true. Lisa Whelchel is none of these things, and it comes through clearly in her book. She is a normal person, who really loves the Lord. This is why I can relate to her and the book so well. I am the same way. I highly recommend it. She is a wonderful author, and I wouldn’t mind picking up another of her books in the future.

Now to find the time..

~ by kmnnz on May 16, 2011.

2 Responses to “Lisa Whelchel’s Book- My Review”

  1. google i love you

Leave a Reply

 
