Turning 40

This past Wednesday, I turned 40. It was an event I had been having mixed emotions about for months. When I saw the ball drop in Times Square on New Year’s Eve, I felt like I’d been slapped. I pretty much ruined the whole night. Where did the time go? I didn’t feel ready.

Turning 40 is a milestone in a person’s life, but here is what can make it a traumatic event. Our society has an unwritten handbook of rules. There are certain things we should have achieved by the time we reach a certain age, and if just one or two of those things are missing, we tend to feel like a failure. It’s a set of rules most of us seem to be affected by, whether we realize it or not. I am the first to admit there are things I have yet to accomplish, things I thought would be in place by this age. However, life doesn’t always line up with what you expect it to be.

I spent two days celebrating entering my 40s. The night before, I went to see Bon Jovi in concert for the second time. The next day, I bought a german chocolate cake. The day felt like being on a long rollercoaster ride. I was thankful, sad, confused.. wondering what to do next, where to go with my life. I walked around in a fog, and the overcast skies didn’t help very much.

The good thing is there is still time to do the things I want to do, to get the life I’d like to have. Not that my life is so bad now. It just feels somewhat incomplete. The thing to do is take this time, and use it to the fullest, to make it productive. You are never too old to dream, to see those dreams turn into reality, and come true. This has become my focus. Being in your 40s is far from the end. It’s a turning of the page.

Once I stopped feeling blue and in a funky daze, the sun began to come out. Happy B-day to me.

~ by kmnnz on May 23, 2011.

2 Responses to “Turning 40”

  1. I am a singer-songwriter Tally Koren writing to you today about the launch of new single 72 Names (Hallelujah) which will last for 72 days. Over the campaign I’m exploring the significance of the number 72 in lots of different situations and I would like you to be part of it!

    I am inviting you today to watch my video about turning 40. I actually started my life at the age of 40, as a singer-songwriter, but I also became happily married after that age. So I would love to know how you feel. There will also be a competition at the end for the most positive comment! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=roLXNsJN9ow

Leave a Reply

 
