Remembering Theme Songs

I was on YouTube late last night, and ran across the theme song from the TV show “Taxi”. I hadn’t heard it in a while. Some of those who were kids during the show’s run said it still sounds like bedtime. I had a Mom who let my sister and I stay up longer on school nights, so my memories are a bit different.

Hearing the “Taxi” theme sounds like the early days of summer vacation, like around the 4th of June. It’s the late ’70s or early ’80s, no later than 1981, before Jeff Conaway left. I grew up in the city, and we loved to go shopping downtown. One of our favorite stores was Foley’s. With their twelve floors, you never ran out of goodies to shop for. The toys were on the fourth floor. Music was on floor nine. They had the best bakery, including vanilla cupcakes with white icing. We bought those often. Without fail, there were bags and boxes to take home almost every time. Ah yes, those were the days.. days I treasure and cherish now more than ever. Those are days I would not trade or give up for anything. And yes, a theme song is connected to them. Eternally connected. I got misty eyed last night as  that familiar, simple song took me back to being a carefree eight year old again. 

 I am not the only one with an experience similar to this one.  Theme songs remain a part of our lives years later, intertwined with our memories. For those with lyrics, we can still sing along. Who could forget the words to “The Brady Bunch” theme? We each have our personal favorites. I think many know theme songs better than the National Anthem.

 Oh by the way, the theme that sounds like bedtime for me? The Johnny Carson  “Tonight Show” theme.

~ by kmnnz on May 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “Remembering Theme Songs”

  1. I Love Lucy, The Munsters, Bewitched, I Dream of Jeannie, Gilligan’s Island, Green Acres, Good Times, The Jeffersons, All in the Family, Maude, Mary Tyler Moore, Laverne & Shirley, SWAT, The Rookies, Charlie’s Angels, Baretta, Barnaby Jones, Police Woman, The Bionic Woman, Wonder Woman, Fantasy Island, Dynasty, Knots Landing, Dallas, and so many more.

    Good memories, indeed!

    • Yes indeed!
      I like each one of the shows you named. Each brought a meaure of happiness into my life over the years 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
