Cheryl Ladd, The Left-Out Angel

I know I wrote an awesome blog about Farrah Fawcett a few weeks ago, but I wanted to take some time to talk about another angel- Cheryl Ladd.

There was a time when my life, my world, revolved around “Charlie’s Angels”. They were my heroes, role models- after my Mother. I had the dolls, posters, the lunchbox, purse, trading cards, magazines.. Yes, I was pretty much obsessed. I have always remembered that time very fondly, and I carry it with me today.

However, let’s not try to rewrite history. Some are under the false assumption the show went into decline after the departure of Farrah Fawcett. I love Farrah, but it’s not true. When Cheryl Ladd joined the show as Kris Munroe, Jill’s little sister, at the beginning of season two, the show continued to thrive. It actually moved up in the ratings, finishing at number four for the 1977-78 TV season. So, why is she overlooked today? Cheryl has been left out of several “Charlie’s Angels” tributes, most noticeably the one at the Emmys in 2006. I read she was hurt not to have been included.

There is more.  People magazine had a photo shoot in 1994, to commemorate their 20th anniversary. “Charlie’s Angels” was included. Farrah, Jaclyn Smith, and Kate Jackson were featured. Cheryl was not. There was an all-star tribute to Aaron Spelling which was broadcast on ABC in 1998. Again, no Cheryl. I recently discovered she was not asked to appear in either of the Drew Barrymore films. Whenever there is an article about the show and there is a picture, it’s of the original cast almost 100% of the time. She has been reduced to an after-thought where “Charlie’s Angels” history is concerned, being called one of the “replacement” angels. It’s bad enough to forget about Shelley Hack and Tanya Roberts, but Cheryl, who was with the show four years? Where is the logic in that?

When word came out Farrah was leaving “Charlie’s Angels”, the future of the show was hanging in the balance. It looked bleak. The show could have become a one-season wonder. The talent, beauty, and class of Cheryl Ladd helped to prevent that from happening. The character of Kris Munroe was cute, funny, and adorable, with just the right amount of spunk. She was fresh out of the police academy, and it showed. Over the years, she would grow and develop into a seasoned detective. Behind the scenes, Cheryl stepped into a difficult situation, and made it work. Not only was she replacing a phenomenon, but in the beginning, had to deal with cool cast members. Jaclyn would warm to her later. Kate did not.

I’m not the only one who has noticed the constant disrespect. I read comments from others on websites and in magazines who share the same point of view. It isn’t accurate, and it isn’t right.

Cheryl may be left out by mainstream society, but not by everyone. Many of us still remember, celebrate, and love her.

~ by kmnnz on August 27, 2011.

33 Responses to “Cheryl Ladd, The Left-Out Angel”

  1. I can’t imagine why they would leave her out. Personally, I like her better than Farrah. I never did care for Kate Jackson. Cheryl seems like she’d be nice in real life. I don’t get that feeling about Kate Jackson.
    I also like and have Cheryl’s later series, One West Waikiki. I wish she
    had made more of those episodes.

    • Yes, Cheryl seems to be very sweet and nice. Kate does come off as being somewhat standoffish. I haven’t seen “One West Waikiki” before, but I’m sure it’s a good show.

      Thanks for sharing your comments!

  2. Hi Kelli,
    Did you receive the email I sent you concerning One West Waikiki?

    Sue

  3. Well said, I totally agree with you. For me Charlie’s Angels were Kelly, Chris and Sabrina. I don’t remember watching it with Farrah when I was little. Although I love Farrah, I felt that Cheryl Ladd should have been there, she was in 87 episodes, second only to Jaclyn Smith. Farrah did 29 episodes including the ‘guest spots’.

    • Thanks! I do appreciate you sharing your thoughts. I didn’t realize Cheryl was in 87 episodes. That alone says it all. She is a true, bonafide angel.

  4. I always liked Kris more than Jill. I felt that Cheryl brought more depth, passion, sensitivity and fun to her role as Kris, and just added more to the show, in general. Plus, Cheryl, Kate, Jaclyn, and David were the best Angel team and had the best chemistry. I really hate how they leave Cheryl out. She was very important to the show. In fact, she was more important than Farrah for saving the show, and she definitely deserves way more credit than she gets. It’s cruel, mean, and tacky the way this longterm and popular Angel and her fans have been treated over the years. I’m very disappointed. It leaves me with a bitter taste for things Angel related. It seems fake.

  5. I agree that Cheryl should be included more. I don’t even remember watching the show with Farrah. Kris, Kelly, and Sabrina define the show for me.

    • It’s that way for a lot of people. They were the only team which lasted more than one season. Plus, they had terrific chemistry.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I agree with the rest of you. Cheryl seemed more like a detective than Farrah did. Cheryl had more substance.

    • She did put her all into the part, didn’t she? I think she was very determined to prove she could master the role, and she was very successful.

      Thanks for your comments!

  7. Also, the Kris, Kelly, Sabrina team was the BEST!!! Seasons 2 and 3 are my favorites.

  8. Geez, Cheryl Ladd was my favorite of all the Angels, I think these idiots who throw together these awards shows and tribute movies, are picking Farrah Fawcett over Cheryl Ladd, merely because half the women in the 1970’s were trying to imitate Farrah Fawcett’s hairstyle …

  9. I couldn’t agree with you more. Farrah is my idol, but even I can’t stand the way Cheryl Ladd is always ignored. I think it has to do with the fact that Farrah is such an icon.

    Not only are some viewers under the false impression that the show went down the drain after Farrah left, a lot of people also falsely believe she was on for more than one season, THAT shows how much impact she had on the series. I was so enthralled with Farrah, I thought no other could ever take her place on the show (and in my ♥), but the minute Kris walked into the Townsend Agency, it was love at first sight. Kris Munroe eventually became my favorite Angel, so Cheryl Ladd deserves credit AND respect for that.

    BTW, the only exception to those tributes featuring the original trio exclusively was a 1992 tribute to Aaron Spelling. And I have a feeling they asked Cheryl only because Farrah refused to appear. =/

    Unfortunately, no matter what, Cheryl will always be remembered as Farrah’s replacement. I remember seeing a comedy show (can’t recall which) where they were talking about stuff in the news, this was when Farrah’s then-boyfriend was on trial for beating her up. Farrah testified in court. The line went something like this: “In the middle of her testimony, Miss Fawcett broke down in tears and couldn’t go on. She had to be replaced by Cheryl Ladd.” 🙂

    • Hi Stefan,
      Long time no hear from. Remember me, Sue in WV? We did some trading
      back in the ’90s, I think it was. I sent you some Charlie’s Angels episodes and you sent me some Wonder Woman. You later remembered that I
      had asked about a certain movie that I was wanting real bad, ‘Family of
      Strangers’ w/ Patty Duke, and you sent it to me. I will always be grateful to you for that. God bless you. 🙂

    • Excellent assessment. Thanks so much for stopping by, and sharing your thoughts! I remember seeing Kate, Jaclyn, and Cheryl at the People’s Choice Awards. It was a lovely treat. I also vaguely remember the comment about Cheryl replacing Farrah during that trial. You are right about how Cheryl will always be regarded as Farrah’s replacement. I can imagine it’s a difficult position to still be in.

  10. Can anyone post the link to the blog about Farrah written a few weeks ago please ? thanks a lot

  11. Thanks so much

  12. Cheryl Ladd was my favorite angel as well. Her personality, warmth, and down to earthness bought something more approachable to the show. I liked Farrah too but there was something more to Cheryl. Shelley Hack was given too much blame for the decline of the show and if you watch the episodes that were aired in the second half of season 4 (during the first few months of 1980) she comes off much tougher than in her initial episodes. And poor Tanya Roberts had to deal with trying to salvage a show that was in a deep decline. All 6 angels should be recognized.

  13. AS MUCH AS I LOVE CHERYL LADD AS KRIS MUNROE WHERE THERES SMOKE THERE’S FIRE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THERES A REASON WHY KATE JACKSON FARRAH SHELLEY AND TANYA DESPISED ACTRESS CHERYL LADD ON ANGELS!!!!!!!!!! CHERYL NEVER AUDITIONED FOR ANGELS IT WAS A PRESENT FROM HER THEN BROTHER IN LAW ALAN LADD JR. PRESIDENT OF 20th CENTURY FOX STUDIOS WHERE ANGELS FILMED! WHAT A COINCIDENCE! CHERYLS THEN HUSBAND DAVID LADD WAS ALWAYS ON SOUNDSTAGE AS WELL AS BABY JORDAN LADD! LADD SANG ON SET DURING BREAKS! CHERYL MARRIED DAVID. LADD FOR HIS NAME MONEY AND CONNECTIONS! CHERYL AFTER BECOMING FAMOUS ON ANGELS DUMPED AND DIVORCED DAVID LADD! THEN CHERYL RAN OFF WITH DAVIDS BEST FRIEND BRIAN RUSSEL AND MARRIED HIM ONLY AFTER CHERYL HOMEWRECKER DESTROYED BRIANS MARRIAGE TO CHERYLS BEST FRIEND SINGER BRENDA RUSSEL! CHERYL WAS ALWAYS A BORN AGAIN GEORGE BUSH LOVING FUNDAMENTAL CHRISTIAN WHO SOLD HER SOUL AND TITS AND ASS ON CHARLIES ANGELS! HIPPOCRITE! LADD HERSELF FREELY ADMITS IN MANY TV INTERVIEWS AND DOCUMENTARIES THAT FAME TURNED HER INTO A RAGING BITCH !! THAT MADE AVA BRAUN LOOK LIKE A SAINT.!!!! NO ONE COULD STAND CHERYL THEN OR NOW!!!!!!! LADDS KARMA IS A BAD JOKER FACELIFT AND DEAD CAREER!!! SMALL WONDER THAT KATE FARRAH SHELLEY AND TANYA HATED HER THEN AND NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Gustavo, You didn’t mention Jaclyn Smith. Did she hate Cheryl Ladd too? Personally, I don’t like Kate Jackson so if she doesn’t like her, maybe that’s a good reason to like her. However, if Cheryl is a Bush supporter and a fundamentalist as you say, that might change my feelings abouy her. Where did you get your information that she is?
      And please stop shouting (all caps). It is hard to read.

  14. CHERYL LADD ON YOU TUBE HAS CHERYL.LADD DISCUSSING HER REPUBLICAN CHRISTIAN BORN AGAIN fundaMENTALism. . ALSO GOOGLE CHERYL LADD REPUBLICAN FOR MANY SITES AND PICTURES OF CHERYL LADD AT 1988. 2000. 2004 REPUBLICAN BUSH COVENTION. LADD IS STANDING IN A CROWD OF BUSH SUPPORTERS. YOU MAY ALSO YOUTUBE MORE VIDEOS OF LADD SINGING ON SUNDAY MORNING CHRISTIAN NETWORK. CHERYL LADD REUBLICAN DENOUNCES DEMOCRATS AND LIBERALISM YET HER STEPDAUGHTER IS HALF BLACK!!!!!! BIOLOGICAL DAUGHTER OF LADDS HUSBAND BRIAN RUSSEL WITH FORMER WIFE BLACK SINGER BRENDA RUSSELL!!! IRONIC THAT CHERYL IS SUCH A DIEHARD REPUBLICAN SHE MAKES CLOSET GAY RONALD RAYGUN LOOK LIKE LIBERAL GLORIA STEINEM! THE CHARLIES ANGELS ACTRESSES KATE JACKSON TANYA ROBERTS AND SHELLEY HACK ARE LIBERALS OR DEMOCRATS. SHELLEY CURRENTLY WORKS IN LIBERAL POLITICAL ORGANIZATION’S SINCE LEAVING ACTING. TANYA IS JEWISH AND HER HUSBAND BARRY ROBERTS WAS JEWISH.KATE JACKSON IS A DIEHARD LIBERAL DEMOCRAT AND IS LIFELONG FRIEND WITH GLORIA STEINEM SUPER LIBERAL. KATE APPEARED ON FEBRUARY 1978 COVER OF LIBERAL MAGAZINE MS. KATE JACKSON STARRED IN 1982 GAY DRAMA/ MAKING LOVE/ ABOUT HER HUSBAND COMING OUT. KATE WOULD HAVE BEEN NOMINATED FOR AN OSCAR BUT THE CATEGORY WAS SO CROWDED SHE LOST OUT. FARRAH FAWCETT JACLYN SMITH AND CHERYL LADD ARE CONSERVATIVE SOUTHERN REPUBLICANS THOUGH LADD IS AN ACTIVE FANATIC!! IRONIC AND STUNNINGLY HIPPOCRITICAL THAT FARRAH JACLYN AND CHERYL ARE SO CONSERVATIVE YET PROSTITUTED THEIR TITS AND ASS IN CHARLIES ANGELS TO MAKE MILLIONS IN JEWISH CONTROLLED LIBERAL DEMOCRAT RUN HOLLYWOOD!!!!!!!!!! CHERYL DUMPED THEN HUSBAND DAVID LADD AND RAN OFF WITH DAVIDS BEST FRIEND BRIAN RUSSEL!!!!! FARRAH DUMPED THEN HUSBAND LEE MAJORS AND RAN OFF WITH LEES FRIEND RYAN ONEAL. RYAN HOOKED FARRAH ON DRUGS AND DESTROYED HER!!!! JACLYN SMITH HAS BEEN DIVORCED THREE TIMES FROM CHEATING PLAYBOYS!!!! AARON SPELLING THE ANGELS BOSS WAS JEWISH AND LIBERAL DEMOCRAT. HOLLYWOOD IS RUN BY THE JEWISH AND GAYS AND LIBERALS. IF YOUR GAY THATS WONDERFUL! BUT DON’T BULLSHIT PEOPLE AND BE A CLOSET STRAIGHT! THATS WORSE! CHERYL LADD IS TERRIFIC IN CHARLIE’S ANGELS BUT A LOUSY REPUBLICAN HIPPOCRITE! IM NOT JUDGING OR CONDONING CHERY LADDS POLITICAL BELIEFS JUST HER FANATICAL IN YOUR FACE HOLIER THAN THOU REPUBLICAN FUNDAMENTALIST HIPOCRISY!!!!!!!

    • Thank you, Gustavo for explaining that to me but I really wish that you and others would stop saying fundamentalist and Christian in the same sentence. Call them right-wing fundamentalists or religious fundamentalists but please stop calling them Christian, no matter what they call themselves. The name Christian comes from the name Jesus Christ. A Christian is a believer in and who accepts Jesus as Son of God and personal Savior and who practices His teachings and commandments. Fundamentalists, first of all, believe they are saving themselves by not committing certain sins. And secondly, they rarely quote Jesus about anything and they rarely practice anything He said to do. They do the opposite of what He said. No matter what they call themselves or how much they say His name (He said their were some who honored Him with their lips but their hearts were far from Him), what they actually practice is mainly Old Testament Judaism, the parts that suit them. Mostly they are just phonies and they throw dirt on His name and give real Christians a bad name by using His name to mistreat other people, especially gay people. I am sorry to hear that Cheryl is a right-wing fundamentalist. It’s like a hard slap up side the head. almost as bad as when I learned that Walter Brennan was a racist and right-winger. That was a real kick in the gut. In one way, it’s best not to know things like that about people we liked and looked up to and really enjoyed seeing in TV shows and movies because it ruins it after that, at least for me, but on the other hand, I guess it’s best that we know who our enemies are and whether they deserve to be admired and respected or not. I really liked the One West Waikiki series that Cheryl did better than Charlie’s Angels. I also have several of her movies. Watching them now won’t be the same. 😦 I like Magnum some and I love the Jesse Stone character and movies so I try not to think about Selleck’s politics when I watch them but it’s not easy to separate them.
      I am a Christian (not to be confused with fundamentalists) and I am also a self-accepting, proud (as opposed to being ashamed of who I am) gay person. Religious fundamentalists and other right-wingers are definitely my enemies, as is anyone who thinks I shouldn’t have the same legal rights and treatment that they have and who actively work to keep it that way.
      I’m sorry to hear about Jaclyn too. I liked her. I also like Shelley Hack so I guess one out of three is better than none. As for Kate Jackson, I don’t care how liberal she is. She may not be an enemy but I still don’t like her. Why do you say that Ronald Reagan was a closet gay person? I’d have to have absolute proof before I’d ever believe that. He was not only our (gay people) enemy, he also considered us to be “sick unfortunates”.

      And again, why do you use all capitals??! It is considered SHOUTING besides being harder to read. Is there a reason why you do that??

  15. FAMOUS CLOSET GAY REPUBLICANS CONSERVATIVES CHRISTIANS OR FUNDAMENTALISTS ARE. 1.JOSEPH MCCARTHY HOLLYWOOD BLACKLISTER. 2.ROY COHN. DIED OF AIDS. 3. J. EDGAR HOOVER CLOSET GAY TRANSVETITE. 4. RONALD REAGAN NOTORIOUS GAY CLOSET HOLLYWOOD B GRADE ACTOR QUEEN WHO ENGAGED IN SEXUAL ORGIES WITH RICHARD NIXON AT BOHEMIAN GROVE. LOOK UP ON YOUTUBE AND GOOGLE FOR PICTURES. 5. RICHARD NIXON. PARANOID. SELF LOATHING CLOSET GAY ALCOHOLIC WHO SUBCONSCIOUSLY SABOTAGED HIS PRESIDENCY WITH WATERGATE BREAK IN AND TAPES. I AM NOT A CROOK IS CODE FOR I AM NOT GAY WHICH MEANS CLOSET GAY. 6. GEORGE W. BUSH. NOTORIOUS CLOSET GAY QUEEN ALCOHOLIC SELF LOATHING COCAINE ADDICT. LOVER OF KARL ROVE IN EARLY 1970s WHEN STATIONED AT NATIONAL GUARD. 7. KARL ROVE. SELF LOATHING CLOSET QUEEN SOCIOPATH. BUSHS RIGHT HAND HATCHET MAN. SELF LOATHING CLOSET GAY WHO SMEARS POLITICAL ENEMIES WITH TRANSFER PROJECTION AND DEFLECTION THAT THEY ARE GAY. ROVE IS MIRRORING HIS GUILT OF BEING GAY. ROVE DESCRIBED IN ONE OF HIS WRITINGS OF MEETING GEORGE W. BUSH IN 1970s. AS. / I MET GEORGE WITH HIS SOFT SKIN AND FIRM BODY. HIS PIERCING EYES. I WAS SO ELATED/ . ROVE RECENTLY DIVORCED HIS FEMALE BEARD AND NOW LIVES WITH MALE GAY LOVER.  8. GEORGE HERBERT WALKER BUSH. DADDY BUSH WAS CAUGHT IN 1989 WASHINGTON GAY CALL BOY RING. LOOK ON YOUTUBE AND GOOGLE. REPUBLICANS THREATENED MEDIA WITH MILLION DOLLAR FCC FINES AND SHUT DOWN SCANDAL QUICKLY.   CHERYL LADD IS IN GOOD COMPANY WITH THIS MENAGERIE OF HIPPOCRITICAL CLOSET GAYS . /WHEN FASCISM COMES IT IS ALWAYS CLOAKED IN AMERICAN FLAG AND BIBLE/!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Now that Farrah has passed on, it seems like Kate doesn’t want to get involved in any reunions. I liked Farrah, but I really enjoyed the show with Cheryl in it. My favorite trio cast was Kate, Jaclyn, and Cheryl. I miss Kate in these reunions. She was an important part of the show and I wish she would do her part and appear with Jaclyn and Cheryl. The three angels should do a tribute to Farrah, David, and John! In addition, Shelley and Tanya should be included in some of the future reunions.

    • Yes, it is true that both Jaclyn Smith and Cheryl Ladd are Republicans, it is also true that Ladd’s name had been associated with gay rights for decades. I first discovered this in the late 1980’s, in an issue of “The New American”, a publication connected with the John Birch Society, and Ladd’s name was listed among pro-gay celebrities.

      Granted, “conspiracy conservatives” are not always the most reliable of sources, so I will offer the additional resource, “Twitch Upon a Star”, Herbie Pilato’s biography of the actress Elizabeth Montgomery. In the 21st chapter “Political Science”, the author relates the different events and fundraisers of various causes (anti-war, gay rights, fighting AIDS, etc.) to which the liberal actress Montgomery attended or hosted. Ladd is specifically listed as an attendee of an AIDS event in 1989 to which the “Bewitched” star also attended, which was at least two years before the red ribbon appeared on national television at award ceremony telecasts.

      So, you have a potentially hostile source (the Birchers) which said that Ladd was pro-gay, as well as a gay-friendly source (Montgomery’s biographer) which indicates Ladd being supportive of gays.

      Seems to me that while Ladd might be a registered Republican, she was on the record for being supportive of gays decades before it was trendy. This makes her similar to the likes of the late Joan Rivers, who supported the gay community and fought AIDS as early as (perhaps even earlier than) Elizabeth Taylor, but was also a registered Republican.

      People, even actresses, are allowed to have layers.

  17. Kate Jackson is rumored to have been behind Cheryl’s shunning. Weird,?because Kate always seemed like the level-headed one compared to the gorgeous big-haired girls. Whatever the reason, Cheryl Ladd is an icon by herself, and deserved to be included given her longevity compared to Kate and even Farrah.

Leave a Reply

 
