’70s TV

While working earlier, I decided to google “The Waltons”. Since my Mom’s maiden name was Walton, my family had a personal (and often annoying) connection with that show. As for me, I would have liked it had the name been “The Allens”. The name was irrelevant to me. I ran across a blog someone wrote back in 2003, shortly after the passing of Fred “Rerun” Berry. The guy rudely said he didn’t get what the hype was about, since he never watched the show. First off, when someone passes away, there should some respect given to them and their memory, whether you knew them or not. That is seen less and less in our society, sadly. Next, I can’t believe this guy never watched “What’s Happening”, even had it been in reruns. No pun intended with that! He went on to say his dad controlled the TV during the prime-time hours. His mom went to bed early every night, and his dad ruled the dial. He went on to list which shows they watched every night.

Quite of a few of those were watched in my house, as well. “Starsky and Hutch”, “The Bionic Woman”, “One Day at a Time”, and “Happy Days” were weekly staples of mine, too. Missing from that list included “Eight Is Enough”, “Three’s Company”, “Welcome Back Kotter”, “The Jeffersons”, and “Alice”. He placed a “Lord help me” near “Donny and Marie”.  This blog was about the fall lineup from 1977. I would have loved to have seen what they did and didn’t watch in 1982. I can see “Dallas” and “The Fall Guy” on the list, but not “Diff’rent Strokes” or “Fame”.

This time of year always reminds me of a few things. One of them is the excitement of my favorite TV shows returning. For me, that no longer exists. Prime time TV and I have been estranged for quite some time, and I don’t see that changing. Hearing about some lame remake of “Charlie’s Angels”, and/or seeing Kim Kardashian’s wedding does not appeal to me. Thank God a nice number of my favorites from childhood are still around, like “The Waltons”, which I enjoy and appreciate now more than ever.

As for my relatives, knowing them they are still solely caught up in the name.

~ by kmnnz on September 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
