Remembering 9/11

September 11, 2001.. It was a Tuesday, a sunny late summer day. I woke up around 8:30 that morning, to head to my college’s library. While dressing, I was watching MSNBC. A report came thru saying a plane had crashed into one of the towers of the World Trade Center. While watching the events continue to unfold, a second plane hit the second tower, on live television. I was in shock.

After the initial disarray subsided, it was revealed our country had been attacked.  Terrorists had invaded our country, hijacked airplanes, and forced them to collide with the twin towers. Meanwhile, another plane had hit the Pentagon, while a fourth one crashed outside of Shanksville, PA. Lives were jeopardized and lost. The twin towers crumpled to the ground. Our safety and security had been violated. We were left scarred and vulnerable.

As the day wore on and turned into evening, followed by night, I found myself as everyone else, in a hazy state of disbelief. I lay upon my bed, under my blanket, watching the extensive news coverage on TV, switching between Peter Jennings, Tom Brokaw, and Dan Rather. I do would do this for the next four days. There was a sense of comfort for me emotionally by watching the news. I did not want to watch anything else. My deepest thoughts and prayers were with those who lost loved ones. I wondered how and when we would recover, and be able to move forward as a people. The next day was my sister’s b-day. There was a feeling of fear mixed with unity in the air. The differences which had been present before were missing. We were all one thing- Americans.

I plan to keep today quiet and simple, as I reflect in my own personal way. I hope we all take time out of our busy lives and personal agendas to remember a day which permanently altered us as a nation.

~ by kmnnz on September 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
