R.I.P. Steve Jobs and Fred Shuttlesworth

Two larger than life pioneers left this earth on the same day, Steve Jobs and Fred Shuttlesworth. Both greatly changed the experience of daily living. I recently checked my email at the car dealership, via my sister’s new I-phone. When we went to the movies last week to see “The Lion King”, there was no question about whether we could do so because of our race. Both of these blessings are due to the life mission of these two men. Each had the vision of a better world, along with a passion and goals they refused to give up on. As a result, our lives are better, richer, and more fulfilled.

When  a person of color is able to dine at the restaurant of their choice, or we visit I-tunes, their memory lives on. Late last night while watching the news, I saw an African-American man reporting. As he held up his I-pod in memory of Steve Jobs, I pictured him smiling with approval. At the same time, I was watching a person who would have been forbidden to be on television once upon a time. I imagined Fred Shuttlesworth expressing satisfaction. I could say more, a lot more, but words fail me as I try to recollect their many accomplishments, and the impact upon my life.

My thoughts and prayers are with those who knew and loved them.

~ by kmnnz on October 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
