What Happened to Natalie Wood?

When my sister told me the investigation into the mysterious death of Natalie Wood was being reopened, I was very surprised. I was also glad. Hopefully, the entire truth will finally be revealed. Natalie Wood has always been one of my favorite actresses. There is nothing more relaxing or enjoyable than watching one of her films. Not only was she strikingly beautiful, but her presence on-screen was so innocent and pure, no matter what part she was playing. We were up late last night watching her in “Bob and Carol and Ted and Alice”. I found myself saying aloud “she was so fine” before I knew it.

I remember the weekend she lost her life very well. I was watching the Sunday night lineup on CBS as usual when it was announced in between commercials Natalie Wood had died. Over the next few days, the details began to emerge. My first thought was her daughters, only 7 and 11 at the time, how they would have to finish growing up without their Mother. I also thought about how terrifying her final moments must have been. Drowning in the sea at night. I bought several magazines during that time, emersing myself in the story of what happened to her. However, it wasn’t a complete story, not to me. Something didn’t quite add up. Natalie out on the boat at night, trying to stop a dingy from banging against the side? She couldn’t have gotten someone else to fix that? She allegedly slipped and fell, hitting her head. Another claim is she took the dinghy out to get away from the tension between hubby R.J. Wagner, and co-star Christopher Walken. Thing is she was terrified of water since childhood. Natalie out on a dinghy in the middle of the ocean, in the dark? Alone? What about those bruises on her body? Where did they come from? Now there is new evidence, former witnesses coming forward to change their stories, new ones emerging. It is all so compelling it has led to the reopening of the case.

Where all of this will lead, we have to wait and see. Whatever the outcome is, it will not bring Natalie back, but I sincerely hope it will allow her to be able to receive the rest she deserves.

~ by kmnnz on November 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
