Remembering Andy Williams

I was very saddened to learn of the passing of Andy Williams earlier today. I knew he had been battling bladder cancer, but reading the news of his death was not any less difficult. Andy wasn’t just a wonderful singer, his voice a “national treasure” in the words of President Reagan. He was a constant fixture in my life, thanks to my Mom. She loved Andy’s singing. I first remember hearing Andy’s music when I 12. The song was “The Days of Wine and Roses”. I liked his voice right away. It has been a shocking thing to see two of her favorite singers (the other being Whitney Houston) pass away within the same year. I cannot count all the times Andy’s warm, soothing voice rang out in our car, and in our home. We own several of his albums. His voice hauntingly sounds so much like her. Hearing clips of some of his songs just now actually gave me chills, and brought tears to my eyes.

Interestingly enough, my favorite Andy Williams song was one she did not listen to. It was “Can’t Get Used To Losing You”, a top 10 hit in the spring of 1963. I believe it peaked at number 2. It is simply a gorgeous song. I rarely listen to his Christmas songs anymore. Too many memories are attached to them. However, I still enjoy hearing “Happy Holidays” and “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”, which is a delight to hear year-round. “The Hawaiian Wedding” song is beyond beautiful, and his first number 1 song “Butterfly” is a swingin’ rocker. It caught me by surprise when I first heard it. He made “Moon River” his own, although it was not his recording initially. I prefer his version of “The Days of Wine and Roses” to the instrumental version by Henry Mancini. The theme from “Love Story” (Where Do I Begin) is an emotionally filled ballad. New Year’s Eve 1985, Andy and Gladys Knight and the Pips hosted CBS’s coverage. We switched between it, and Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve. Mom and I watched it all together, on the floor of the den in our family home. My sister had fallen asleep. The others were out. It was a fun night. It has been comforting to recall these very sweet times.

I treasure more than ever having heard Andy’s music all these years. I will continue to keep it a part of my life. R.I.P.

~ by kmnnz on September 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
