Voting and Color

Earlier today I read actress Stacey Dash has come forward in support of  GOP candidate Mitt Romney. Naturally, her decision was met with both anger and confusion by Democrats.. and African-Americans. Horrible things were said to and about her on Twitter. Gospel singer Bebe Winans sang at the GOP Convention. Following some raised eyebrows, he explained why he did it. Ever since Barack Obama announced his candidacy for president in 2007, it has been a unwritten rule for people of color to support him. When this is not the case, personal attacks start flying. When Nicki Minaj declared her support of Romney, she reportedly received death threats. Death threats?? Seriously?? So if you are of African-American ancestry, that means you are obligated to vote for Obama? Why?

I for one really do not see President Obama as a “black” man. I’m in agreement with Morgan Freeman, who called him our first mixed President. He recently called himself a “mixed kid from Hawaii”. However, should I or anyone else, feel pressured or obligated to vote for him just because he had a black father? Although I’m not quite certain who I will be voting for this time around, race will not be the deciding factor. It will not be involved at all. Nor was this the case in 2008. I voted for Obama because I thought he would make a good leader. He promised hope and change. There was something very inspiring and uplifting about his message. When we went to see him in early 2008, the building was filled with a unity and a togetherness I had never seen before. It was a wonderful experience to have been a part of. I also liked his personality. He seems very relatable and easy to talk to. None of this had anything to do with race.

I do not regret my decision to vote for Obama. Nor am I angry with those who choose not to support him, despite what their racial identity may be. In the black community, supporting a Democrat seems to be a given. I still remember my family’s surprise when Ray Charles endorsed Ronald Reagan in 1980. I admit I too was caught up in the ideology that it was wrong or being a traitor for a black person not to support a Democrat. I decided to leave that frame of mind behind, and respect people’s individual choices. I feel to vote for someone solely based upon race is another form of racism. No one should be ostracized or scorned if Barack Obama is not their candidate of choice.

So, to those of  African-American ancestry who will be casting their vote for Mitt Romney, I say follow your heart and do not let anyone stop you. I voted Republican once, too.

~ by kmnnz on October 8, 2012.

4 Responses to “Voting and Color”

  1. Hmmm sounds like you wrote this article as Black person instead of the Mixed race person that you are.

    • I am a mixed race person, and proud of it. However, after having called myself “black” for most of my life, I’m still in the transitional stage.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. If you see Obama as a Mixed race person then why isn’t “Mixed Race” one of the tags on this article. You’re discussing Stacey Dash who is also a Mixed race person.

Leave a Reply

 
