Obama or Romney, Romney or Obama

As election day 2012 draws closer and closer, the tension grows thicker. Earlier today, I read a horrible discussion on Facebook. The hateful insults flew back and forth at record speed. The candidates and those supporting them were called awful names. Belittling comments were fast and furious. I moved on, deciding to stay out of it. Yes, this election is important. Every presidential election is. I’ve never missed voting in one. We should take the matter seriously, and cast our vote. However, people have gotten out of control this time around. It is disturbing, to say the very least.  The day I went to vote, the hostility and animosity in the line was unbelievably thick. I was relieved when it was all over.

It’s become a race war in the eyes of many. All a lot of people can see is a black man and a white man. That’s it. They are voting for a color, a race. Not for the person. In my eyes, both have their good points. They also have their drawbacks. I wonder how many people have ended friendships over them? How many strained relationships are in existence tonight? To me, it’s just not worth it.

I voted last weekend. I know there are those who do not approve of how I chose to cast MY ballot, but that is their problem. I refuse to make it mine. No matter who you vote or voted for, I do not see very much significant change taking place. There may be a few things here and there, but major, life altering changes I do not see. However, there are people who think their very lives are at stake, their day-to-day way of living. They are forgetting the President cannot make decisions on his own. He has to go through Congress. Remember the system of checks and balances? Do a Google search if you forgot.

Whoever wins this election is not going to become the Messiah. The office of God is already taken, and not up for re-election. Whether we get Romney, or Obama for another four years, he will make mistakes. He will screw up, and disappoint. Every president has. It will not be any different this time. In the midst of all their promises, this is the one they left out. However, it is the one they will most definitely keep.

It’s going to be close election, more than likely. The last one I remember being very close in my lifetime was between Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter in 1976. We didn’t know who won until the next morning.

I’ll end with this. Do not lose yourself in this election.

~ by kmnnz on November 5, 2012.

3 Responses to “Obama or Romney, Romney or Obama”

  1. Good article! I think the close election statement is right on point. However, I also think that if it is close we will not know who wins this election for weeks. It is shaping up to be an election settled in the court room instead of the voting booth.
    Eaither candidate that wins is going to have problems because congress is most likely going to stay split between the two parties. I don’t really see a lot of changes in the next four years except becoming another day older and deeper in debt.

    • Thanks, Scott! I’m so glad you stopped by, and shared your thoughts. I couldn’t agree more. People are expecting a miracle worker, and they aren’t going to get it from either one of these men.

      I’m sure when it’s 2016 and it’s time for this all over again, nothing much will have changed.

    • Thanks, Scott! I’m so glad you stopped by, and shared your thoughts. I couldn’t agree more. People are expecting a miracle worker, and they aren’t going to get it from either one of these men.

      I’m sure when it’s 2016 and it’s time for this all over again, nothing much will have changed.

Leave a Reply

 
