I Saw A Beatle!

No, I’m not a Baby Boomer. That was my Mom. She was the one who wore Beatle bangs in high school, owned the album “A Hard Day’s Night”, and liked “Penny Lane”. However, I am beyond thrilled I got to see Sir Paul McCartney live in concert last week. The Beach Boys are my favorite group, but I have had an interest in the Beatles since childhood. I think it started the sad night John Lennon lost his life in 1980. I had never heard of the Beatles, but when I noticed my Mom’s reaction to the news, I knew they were something special.

Ringo was my favorite Beatle, but I liked more songs by Paul. Actually, he was the one I knew first. I was aware of Paul McCartney before I discovered he was one of the Beatles. “Silly Love Songs” and “Coming Up” were my intro. During the ’80s, he remained current, performing smash duets with Stevie Wonder and Michael Jackson, and recording on his own. I loved his long marriage to the lovely Linda. They were perfect together, the ideal couple. Although she had no musical experience, she joined Wings. The two wanted to be together that much, and Paul taught her how to play various instruments. People criticized the decision. I thought it was wonderful. I was very saddened by her passing.

I thought about Mom and Linda a lot last week at Minute Maid Park in Houston. With the gorgeous skyline as a backdrop, sitting in the cold, crisp night air, the scent of homemade burgers throughout, Sir Paul was beyond amazing. So full of energy, he played straight for almost three hours. No opening act or intermission. Two encores! Is he really 70?? 🙂  Close to forty songs from his long, successful career were heard by us, a crowd which consisted of young kids, teens, adults of all ages, and of course Boomers. I was in awe for most of the night, in total elation at watching this legend in person. He was funny, sweet, and nostalgic, interacting so naturally with the audience. You could easily sense his goal, his joy, was in pleasing the crowd. He was overwhelmingly successful.

I was not feeling very well.  My throat was hurting, my head stuffed up. However, it all took a back seat for those three hours. When he went into “Hey Jude”, my sister jumped to her feet. The guy next to me shrieked like a teenage girl. Actually, he did that several times. “Hey Jude” was a song I loved in my teens, but I heard it too much over the years. Hearing that familiar, classic intro live did something to me I have yet to be able to describe. It was a defining moment, and when he asked only the ladies to sing the chorus (he also asked the men), I mustered up the strength to sing as loudly as I could. By the time it was over, people slowly filed out of their seats. It was as if no one wanted to leave. I could have been there all night. My liking for Paul McCartney has bloomed into a love affair. I adore, admire, and respect him more than ever.

Mom and Linda would be pleased.

~ by kmnnz on November 21, 2012.

4 Responses to “I Saw A Beatle!”

  1. I wanted to go this so bad! Very lucky!

    • Thanks so much! I hope you have another chance in the future. 🙂 You’ll LOVE it!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Your personal blog post, “I Saw A Beatle! Kelli’s Blog” ended up being well worth writing a comment here! Merely needed to state u really did a very good job. Many thanks -Armando

    • Thank you so very much! I greatly appreciate your comments. They made my day. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

 
