The Downside of Long Hair

brookeLong hair just isn’t right for everyone. It looks great, of course. However it drags a lot of women down, making them look older. Now I’ll admit cutting your hair can be traumatic, especially just before that first snip. Once its done, correctly that is, it can revitalize your entire appearance. My hair naturally grows long, but I seem to have a preference for shorter looks, chin to shoulder length. It still amazes and mystifies me how a hairstyle becomes a significant part of their persona.

A couple of women who look better with shorter hair come to mind. Among them Sarah Jessica Parker, Jennifer Aniston, Michelle Stafford, Katie Holmes, Tina Fey, Hillary Clinton, and Kate Jackson. There a few I would like to see go the shorter route, including Celine Dion, Beyonce, Mariah Carey, Sharon Case, Jennifer Lopez, Goldie Hawn, Stevie Nicks, and Demi Moore, who looked great with short hair in the ’90s.

There are some women who were born to wear their hair long. Angelina Jolie, Mia Farrow, Taylor Swift, Kim Kardashian, and Lisa Whelchel belong to that group. Then there are the ones who go from long to short then back again in the blink of an eye, like Rihanna, Paris Hilton, and Cameron Diaz. Now some of these women wear weaves and extensions, but that is beside the point.  Kudos to Charlene Tilton, Alicia Keys,  and Tia Mowery for taking the plunge and cutting their long locks, although Tia reportedly cried afterwards.

When I look at pics of myself over the years, I enjoy seeing the various hairstyles I’ve worn. Curly, straight, long, short. It’s taking a journey, one of my hair. I think those women who only have one style to look back on are cheating themselves. They seem afraid to be able to get out of the boat, to take a risk. For them, their hair is a safety net. I know a lady who’s worn the same style for most of her life. She’s in her mid 40s. She admitted she doesn’t have the guts to cut it, to try something new. She speaks for many of her fellow females.

I cut my hair again almost a month ago. However, who knows what I’ll do with it in the future. Time will tell. One thing is certain. I will continue to try new looks. Everyone should cut their hair at least once. Go ahead and do it! 🙂

~ by kmnnz on December 7, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Downside of Long Hair”

  1. It’s like the Seinfeld with Wendy Malick. A dated ‘do does no one any good!

    • No, not really. The time always comes for a change, something different.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

 
