Sandy Hook

14709_10152322363915533_1773837608_nI know I haven’t blogged in a while. I wanted to share my feelings about the horrific tragedy in Newtown, CT. However, I was so overwhelmed by my feelings and emotions, I did not know what to say. The day of the nightmare, I had worked at one of the local high schools. I heard the news driving home. Hearing something so heartbreaking is never easy. It is even more difficult while behind the wheel.

In the days after the tragedy, there was extensive news coverage on TV and online. The media was literally camped out in Newtown. However, we are hearing less and less about it all. Not that hearing continuous news about something so awful should remain a daily event. However, my concern has always been this. The 26 victims will eventually be forgotten and become a distant memory, an after thought. “Oh yeah, I remember that. That was so sad. Well, anyway.. ” That is a conversation I hear taking place time and time again. While everyone else can go back to normal, to their lives and routines, the families and loved ones of the victims do not have this privilege. There are the birthdays, holidays, the date of the tragedy.. These are just a few of the things these people will have to deal with from now on. Then there are the ordinary days, the times when a scent or a song, the glow of the moon or brightness of the sun, will make the grief even harder to bear.

We as a country as are slowly starting to forget, which troubles and saddens me. People are having these heated debates about gun control, but at the end of the day, I don’t see anything changing. As a result, these mass shootings will keep occurring. There will be more victims to lose their lives early and needlessly. We will keep mourning them, having initial compassion, seeing their pictures on the news..  then we will forget them, too.

May God have mercy upon those who are left behind, and comfort and strengthen them in the days and years ahead.

~ by kmnnz on December 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
