Those We Lost In 2012

celeb losses2012 has been a year in which we experienced the loss of many of our most beloved and talented entertainers, public figures, and sports players. Some of those who passed on were a very significant part of my formative years. They were there, in the public eye, when I was growing up. Although I did not know any of them personally, I shared my childhood with them. The news of each leaving us had a very deep and personal effect upon me. I treasure the moments and times they were a part of my life.

Andy Williams, Donna Summer, and Whitney Houston were played often in our home. They were three of my mom’s favorite singers. I will always remember the enormous and worldwide popularity of “Dallas”. I also recall it coming on Sunday nights for a while, before finding its permanent home on Friday nights. Week after week, we watched “The Jeffersons”, then “Amen”. Saturdays revolved around “Soul Train” and “American Bandstand”. I was in love with Richard Dawson. The black and white episodes of “The Andy Griffith Show” remain my favorites. I still like the “Matlock” theme song.  I was a fan of The Beastie Boys. “At Last” belongs to Etta James. No, that was not Aretha singing “Rescue Me”, the top five hit song from 1965. It was Fontella Bass. Davy Jones was the cutest Monkee. The Sweathogs still make me laugh. Al Freeman Jr was a fixture on “One Life to Live”, while Frank Cady was one on “Petticoat Junction”. Oscar and Felix remind me of my sister and I in their unique styles of housekeeping. We still have our “Saturday Night Fever” album. My mom had a crush on Don Grady on “My Three Sons”. Peter Breck was the feisty sibling on “The Big Valley”. “Ebony Eyes” by Bob Welch is one of my favorite songs. I first discovered Alex Karras on “Webster”. Chad Everett was one hot doctor on “Medical Center”. Who could forget Ernest Borgnine in “McHale’s Navy”, or Celeste Holm in “The Tender Trap”. Not to mention Phyllis Diller. The Count helped teach me numbers on “Sesame Street”. Sally Ride inspired me. George McGovern was the first presidential candidate mom voted for. I always wondered what it must have been like to see Neil Armstrong land on the moon.

There was also the troubled Rodney King, 17 year old Trayvon Martin, Sarah Burke, and one of the founding members of The Platters, Herb Reed.

I must mention the children and adults who lost their lives earlier this month in Newtown, CT at Sandy Hook Elementary School. The tragic loss of them hit us all very hard. There were other lives lost in several other mass shootings this year across the country.

To all of those who passed on in 2012, may they rest in peace.

~ by kmnnz on December 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
