Remembering David Janssen

kimbleEvery February 13th, I think of David Janssen. I was in the 3rd grade when he suddenly passed away, due to a massive heart attack. He was only 48 years old. It has been said he worked himself to death. In addition to his ongoing work schedule, he was a heavy smoker and drinker. He smoked up to four packs of cigarettes a day. My Mother, who grew up watching him on “The Fugitive”, was stunned by the news. I stared at his picture on the TV, as Walter Cronkite delivered the sad news. I felt a slight connection to him. Probably b/c he would be one of my favorite actors in the future.

The interesting thing is I was unaware of who David Janssen was prior to his passing. I missed “Harry-O” during its original run, and if I had seen any of his TV movies, I did not notice him. I would discover “Harry-O’ the following year in late night reruns. My first impression was his voice. I wondered why it was so gravelly.

However, I would totally fall in love with both Janssen and his acting nine years later when I discovered “The Fugitive” for the first time. It is indeed one of the most brilliant shows in the history of television. Janssen had the keen ability to convey that sense of vulnerability which was needed to play the part of Dr. Richard Kimble so effectively. The role and the series made him a star, and although his place in TV history is established, it saddens me to see him mostly forgotten today.

I wonder how many people remember him as I do, every February 13th, the day his life came to an unexpected end. Probably very few, but I do not need any company. I will continue to do so on my own. R.I.P. Davey.

~ by kmnnz on February 14, 2013.

6 Responses to “Remembering David Janssen”

  1. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. […] Remembering David Janssen. […]

  3. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TOUCHING REMEMBERANCE OF MY FRIEND, DAVID JANSSEN. KELLI, YOU ARE NOT ALONE! MILLIONS OF HIS DEVOTED FANS, YOUNG AND OLD, FROM AROUND THE WORLD, ARE REMEMBERING HIM TODAY AND TOMORROW.
    THANK YOU, Mike Phelps

  4. David janssen was the greatest. His acting in The Fugitive was absolutely riveting- the perfect actor fort the part in the greatest television show of alltime-by far !

  5. Quality content is thhe key to interest the visitors to visit thhe web page, that’s wuat this
    web page is providing.

Leave a Reply

 
