What If..

imagesCA0KQUPWThe other night, I spent some time before bed watching ’60s TV shows I had DVR’d. I checked out “Car 54, Where Are You?”, “Hogan’s Heroes”, and “The Mod Squad”. Afterwards, I found myself wondering had I been born 10 years earlier (in 1961) which shows would have been my favorite, the ones I watched every week.

I think I would have liked “The Brady Bunch” a lot. I would have loved “Rowan and Martin’s Laugh-In”, and “Ironside”. Since the heyday of the western was continuing to run its course, I probably would have avoided “Gunsmoke” and “Bonanza”. 1960s TV has always been a favorite of mine. While doing my homework, I was tuned into “Gilligan’s Island”, “Family Affair”, and “I Dream of Jeannie” on a daily basis. That era produced some unforgettable television, and a wide variety of choices for the average viewer. From the fantasy shows like “Mister Ed” and “Bewitched”, to the serial dramas including “The Fugitive” and “Mission: Impossible”, to variety shows such as “The Ed Sullivan Show” and comedies like “Julia”, there was something for everyone.

Just for the record, I am not at all dismissing the era I did grow up in. There was a lot of terrific TV in the ’70s and ’80s as well. I couldn’t have asked for or picked a better time to have come of age within. It’s just fun to sometimes wonder how it would have been to have come along a little sooner.

~ by kmnnz on July 7, 2013.

 
