May 18, 1976

mtm I ran across this photo a few weeks ago. I discovered it was taken at the Emmys in May of 1976. May 18th, 1976, to be exact, which was my 5th birthday. I knew it fell on a weekday that year, but did not remember it was a Monday, until I read the caption. The picture features members of the cast of "The Mary Tyler Moore Show" receiving more Emmys for their work on the show. It was among the most funny and well-written in TV history, a timeless classic which continues to be a delight to watch. The cast was brilliantly assembled. It would remain on the air for one more season, with their last original broadcast being shown in March, 1977. My family and I were in front of the TV watching that night, just after "Hee-Haw".

While Mary and company were racking up more accolades, I was sick with a bad cold. I was so sick, my Mom had to cancel my birthday party. I was disappointed, but knew there was no way around it. Fortunately, the other kids did not mind. They were all neighbors of ours, from one to four years older than me. However, they never treated me in a dismissive manner because I was the youngest. We played together every evening, with them coming by my house to get me, asking “could Snoopy come out and play?” The party was held that weekend. I was all better, and everyone had a wonderful time. There was plenty of food, games, and music, with Mom taking pictures with her Instamatic camera. The pics are in my scrapbook.

It is amazing how one photo can cause you to go back into your history, and relive an event all over again. Thanks, MTM! 🙂

~ by kmnnz on July 26, 2013.

2 Responses to “May 18, 1976”

  1. Kelli – Some comments about this photo: Mary had just received her third Emmy for Outstanding Lead Actress for MTM, while Ed won the third of what would be a record seven Emmys.

    Two years after this photo was taken, Ed would win the first of two Emmys for “Lou Grant.” He remains the only actor in TV history to win separate Emmys for playing the same character on both a situation comedy and a serious dramatic show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
