Remembering John Ritter

jack tripper

John Ritter was one of my first and biggest crushes. Thing is the crush probably lasted all but a good six months or so. During the latter part of first grade, I developed a serious crush on Jack Tripper. She was cute, goofy, funny, and he could cook. I often found myself jealous of Janet and Chrissy getting to hug and kiss him all the time. I stumbled across “Three’s Company” by accident one night, during their one and only Christmas episode. By the time the first commercial break came along, I said to myself “ooh I like this show.. ” When it was over, I ran to the kitchen to tell my Mom about this new terrific show I found, and what it was about. Pretty soon, she was watching with me every week. The first People magazine I bought had John and his wife at the time Nancy on the cover. By the time second grade rolled around, my crush had subsided. However, my admiration for and of John Ritter would continue. It is alive and well today.

It is hard for me to believe 10 years ago John suddenly passed away at the age of 54. I was shocked and horrified when I heard the news. I felt like I was in a trance for the rest of the day. It was like losing a close family friend, although I had never met him. Despite his success, he seemed so friendly and assessable, just like a regular guy. I think that’s why there was so much sadness by his passing.

John Ritter possessed the gift of being able to make us laugh, which he did so well. Although he is no longer with us, that gift continues to nourish us, which is the best way to remember him. For me, the memories of him will live on.. that crush still roaming through my mind.

How I still miss you, John…

~ by kmnnz on September 11, 2013.

2 Responses to “Remembering John Ritter”

  1. Thank you for this lovely tribute. I loved and miss him too, now and for always. I chatted to his wife Amy Yasbeck about the The John Ritter Foundation for Aortic Health which she set up after his sad death. I feel supporting the foundation is a way to say thank you for everything he gave us. Check out my interview with Richard Kline (Larry Dallas) on the same blog. This show is timeless – one that nobody will ever be able to top.
    http://popspeaking.blogspot.com/2013/11/amy-yasbeck-chats-to-us-about-john.html

    • I couldn’t agree more. We were very fortunate to have experienced TV on such of a level.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

 
