Cabbage Patch Dolls 30th Anniversary

I didn’t realize it’s been 30 years since the country went into a mad obsession over the Cabbage Patch doll. Parents were fighting it out in the stores. It was so intense, the entire fiasco made the evening news. I too found myself caught up in the craze. I might have been 12 at the time and starting to wear makeup, but I was one of those who was not eager to run away from playing with dolls either. I wanted a Cabbage Patch doll, too. It would prove to be a very difficult task.

We searched high and low for a Cabbage Patch doll. Everyone was out. By December 23rd, I had pretty much given up hope. We stopped by Kmart one afternoon. I headed over to the toy section. Naturally, the shelves were empty. As I was leaving to find my family, I looked over toward my right. Amongst the towels was what I had been looking for- a Cabbage Patch doll. I noticed that familiar, much sought-after box I had been seeing on TV. I turned it over and saw a bald doll dressed in purple. I couldn’t grab it fast enough. I ran across the store, and showed it to my Mom, who was elated for me. We bought it, and took it home. I would wait until Christmas day to open it. I received other gifts as well, but this one stood out the most. It was a dream come true.

I still have that doll. I even found the adoption papers some years ago. Most of all, I treasure the special memory of it all. It was an unforgettable time and experience. Happy Anniversary.

~ by kmnnz on September 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
